Talk to a Live Agent Now

888-629-2137

Onscreen Quote in seconds
No Personal Info Required

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.

Maine State Title Processing Procedures

  1. What form of title must an insurer obtain in connection with the sale of a vehicle that has been acquired through the settlement of a claim?
  2. What documents must an insurer provide to Copart in order to sell a vehicle on a Certificate of Salvage (if the vehicle is 15 years old or newer)?
  3. What documents must an insurer provide to Copart in order to sell a vehicle on a Bill of Sale (if the vehicle is 16 years old or older)?
  4. What documents must an insurer provide to Copart in order to sell a recovered theft vehicle recovered substantially intact with no substantial damage, where title is still in the name of the insured?
  5. What steps must an insurer take in Maine to process an owner-retained vehicle?
  6. What legal duties are imposed upon a lienholder following satisfaction of the lien?


  1. What form of title must an insurer obtain in connection with the sale of a vehicle that has been acquired through the settlement of a claim?

    Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, § 602 defines “salvage vehicle” and “total loss” as follows:

      13. Salvage vehicle. "Salvage vehicle" means a vehicle that, by reason of its condition or circumstance, is declared a total loss by an insurer or owner or is transferred to a recycler or salvage dealer, or a vehicle for which a certificate of salvage has been issued.

      19. Total loss. "Total loss" means a vehicle that is transferred to an insurer due to damage, destruction or theft, or a vehicle determined by an owner to have no marketable value other than the value of the basic material and parts used in the construction of the vehicle.

    Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, § 664-A describes when a certificate of salvage is needed:

      5. Sold or displayed for sale at auction. A vehicle that is sold or displayed for sale at an auction must be accompanied by a valid certificate of title at the time of its sale or display. A salvage vehicle sold or displayed for sale at an auction or insurance salvage pool must be accompanied by a valid certificate of salvage at the time of its sale or display for sale, unless it is accompanied by a certificate of title from a jurisdiction that does not issue certificates of salvage.

    However, no Certificate of Title need be obtained for vehicles that are more than 15 years old. [Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, §§ 652] back to top

  2. What documents must an insurer provide to Copart in order to sell a vehicle on a Certificate of Salvage (if the vehicle is 15 years old or newer)?
     
    The insurer shall provide Copart with a Certificate of Title or a comparable ownership document issued by another state or jurisdiction (either endorsed over to the insurer or accompanied by a power of attorney), an odometer disclosure statement, a release of any liens, and an ACV.

    Copart will submit these documents along with an Application for Certificate of Salvage (MVT102) and the appropriate fee to the Secretary of State for processing.

    Thereafter, the Secretary of State shall within twenty (20) days issue a Certificate of Salvage in the name of the insurer.

    Copart, acting under a power of attorney for the insurer, will then sell the vehicle at auction and reassign the insurer’s Certificate of Salvage to the purchaser. [Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, §§ 652, 654 & 667] back to top

  3. What documents must an insurer provide to Copart in order to sell a vehicle on a Bill of Sale (if the vehicle is 16 years old or older)?

    The insurer shall provide Copart with a Registration in Maine (note: Certificates of Title are not issued on vehicles which are 16 years old or older) or a comparable ownership document issued by another state or jurisdiction either endorsed over to the insurer or accompanied by a power of attorney, an odometer disclosure statement, and an ACV.

    Copart, acting under a power of attorney for the insurer, will then sell the vehicle at auction on a Bill of Sale. Copart will provide the purchaser with a copy of the Bill of Sale along with the Registration as proof of ownership.

    [Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, § 652] back to top

  4. What documents must an insurer provide to Copart in order to sell a recovered theft vehicle recovered substantially intact with no substantial damage, where title is still in the name of the insured?

    When a vehicle has been stolen, the insurer shall provide Copart with a Certificate of Title or a comparable ownership document issued by another state or jurisdiction (either endorsed over to the insurer or accompanied by a power of attorney), an odometer disclosure statement with last known mileage, and a release of any liens.

    After receipt of these documents, Copart will submit these documents along with an Application for Certificate of Salvage and the appropriate fee to the Secretary of State for processing.

    Thereafter, the Secretary of State shall issue Certificate of Salvage marked “Theft” in the name of the insurer. Upon receipt, Copart will forward the Certificate of Salvage to the insurer for safekeeping.

    If the vehicle is recovered, the Certificate of Salvage along with an ACV will be returned to Copart by the insurer in order to obtain the appropriate title depending upon the year of the vehicle and the damage to the vehicle. If there is no damage at all to the vehicle, a Certificate of Title (aka clean title) may be obtained in the name of the insurer.

    Copart, acting upon a power of attorney for the insurer, will then sell the vehicle at auction and reassign the insurer’s Certificate of Salvage or Certificate of Title to the purchaser.

    [Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, § 602;755] back to top

  5. What steps must an insurer take in Maine to process an ownerretained vehicle?

    Pursuant to Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A 667:

    1. [intentionally omitted]
    2. Assignment of ownership. At the time the salvage
    vehicle is transferred, the insurer, the insurer's designee or the owner shall endorse the assignment of ownership on the certificate of salvage and surrender it to the transferee of the salvage vehicle. If a vehicle owner retains a salvage vehicle as part of a settlement with an insurer, the insurer shall comply with this section and endorse the assignment of ownership on the certificate of salvage and surrender it to the vehicle owner. back to top

  6. What legal duties are imposed upon a lienholder following satisfaction of the lien?

    Following satisfaction of lien, the lienholder must within 14 days of satisfaction execute the release on the face of the Certificate of Lien or Title. The lienholder shall release the certificate of title, certificate of salvage or certificate of lien to the subordinate lienholder if one is named. If the lien was satisfied in conjunction with the sale of the vehicle and there is no subordinate lienholder, release the Certificate of Title, Certificate of Salvage or Certificate of Lien to the owner or to a person who delivers to the lienholder an authorization from the owner to receive the certificate. The lienholder should notify the Secretary of State that the lien has been satisfied. [Maine Revised Statute Annotated Title 29-A, § 705] back to top



GET A MORE PRECISE OFFER

Does your car have body damage ?

Number of airbags blown?

Do you have a collision estimate?

What is your insurance deductible?

Is your car drivable?

Do you have the car’s title?

Does the vehicle have a salvage or rebuilt title?

Does the vehicle motor run?

YOUR CASH OFFER!

CASH OFFER FOR YOUR
DAMAGED VEHICLE

$
Fair market value prior to accident $


Sell my damaged vehicle
Check for my vehicle AS-IS

This represents a cash offer for the vehicle as described by the seller.

$
Net Repair Check

Proceeds for repairs that can be used for purchasing a replacement vehicle.

$
Deductible Payment

Amount you save if you sell the car now

$
Cash Toward a New Vehicle
$
Out of Pocket Expenses
($0)